Newbie Here!

New Members - Introduce yourself, and say a few words
Riggers68

Newbie Here!

Post by Riggers68 »

Hello!
Sort of Newbie here, taking a look around to see what hints and tips I can add to my stash of "useful things to know"!

Married Mum of 3 girls in their late teens and 20s, with a Hubby who is often away for work.
Most of my "Preps" are reactive - but should the situation I've reacted to should happen again I'll be in a better situation "next time"!
I have the usual pantry, toiletry and "black out box" stashes, a car that always has half a tank of fuel and various "keep us comfortable should we be stuck overnight" bits and pieces that have grown from the baby bag necessities I've carried since becoming a Mum.

Looking forward to seeing what else I can gleen from the forum's knowledge and experience!

Riggers!
jennyjj01

Re: Newbie Here!

Post by jennyjj01 »

Riggers68 wrote: Wed Dec 27, 2023 1:31 pm Hello!
Sort of Newbie here, taking a look around to see what hints and tips I can add to my stash of "useful things to know"!

Riggers!
Hi and welcome from the North West.
Graceful Degradation! Prepping's objective summed up in two words. Turning Disaster into Mild Inconvenience by the power of fore-thought

Not Feeling Optimistic. Let me be wrong
Yorkshire Andy

Post by Yorkshire Andy »

Welcome it's very easy to get sucked Into a virtual rabbit hole and spend a absolute fortune

Before spending plan plan plan

Funky kit is nice but an £80 torch won't feed the family for a week ..

Figure out what your local risks are flooding / industrial accidents etc

Knowledge is always worth more than kit but kit makes life easier..

You'll come across Bob kits (bug out bags).. this is the UK if you bug out your likely to wind up in the church hall or sports club sports hall so a Bowie knife and axe won't be top of your must haves a decent kip mat and sleeping bag might be better and a bag of change for the vending machine...