Questions about what folks think on the Comm's side of things

m.marino

Questions about what folks think on the Comm's side of things

Post by m.marino »

Okay, As the Subject states a bit of a question.

What do folks think about communications and equipment to do that with? As with modern radios, 3D printing, and micro generation abilities, there is a lot that can be done on a budget and even more if folks pool resources or focus resources for better response and reliability.

A bit of my background, MM0MSU. Which for those who know what that is, I am a fully licensed UK amateur radio operator (pre-covid testing). I also design and build antennas (that is business). I also am a member of Lothians RAYNET and have been for a number of years. These days with the ability to 3D print and build durable micro-gen wind generators that can supply power for QRP (low power) communications and the ease to build antennas that can amplify the effective wattage that you are transmitting (at the expense of a narrower effective beam). I am wondering IF folks have though about setting up what is wifi repeaters and completely legal within a rather useful wattage output.

I don't know the response I will get but just putting it out there to see.
jennyjj01

Re: Questions about what folks think on the Comm's side of things

Post by jennyjj01 »

This is way outside of my knowledge. Heck, i don't even understand the question. So I'll ask one...

What could reasonably done with WiFi repeaters? Is that like Wifi extenders? Aren't there serious limits to how many can be linked together?

As I understand it, they might be used to join closely located computers together and share any available internet.

Real world practical application in a bad comms post crisis world???

Is this all separate from use of amateur radio licensed bands, which I thought can't be used for data??