I'm a newbie

New Members - Introduce yourself, and say a few words
Lizz Matthews

I'm a newbie

Post by Lizz Matthews »

Hiya from Sheffield, I'm completely new to all this : :?
Jerseyspud

Re: I'm a newbie

Post by Jerseyspud »

Hi and welcome

I don't think anyone is ever completely new to prepping. Most people always have candles in case of a power cut or extra food incase of bad weather.

What are you planning to prep for?
when it comes to catastrophic events, we never know when the day before is the day before. So we prepare for tomorrow

Prepping on a small island
Yorkshire Andy

Post by Yorkshire Andy »

Welcome..

Start by taking a step back and a deep breath :lol:

Then get a pen and paper and start a list.

What are you going to prepare for.... (Must admit a year ago a pandemic wasn't high on many people's list)

What do you need... (300 loo rolls 50litres of bleach might not be a bad idea :mrgreen: )

How do you plan to deal with an "event"

Take flooding Sheffield has had a few events over the past few years...

Flooding:

Transport plan.... How to get home ... Safe walking route / safe place to stay if you can't get home ... That B&B 10 minutes walk from work add it's number to your phone ... Overnight mini pack. . . Cash to pay for b&b.
Or the travel lodge / hotel booking app... very quick way to book a room
and pay and beat those ringing round to find emergency accommodation ..

Phone charger, change of smalls in your car / desk at work.... Roads flooded ring b&b your good for the night

(Total cost amount hotel / BB charge for the night and those old socks / pants / t-shirt that's about fit for the bin. Probably got a spare phone charger kicking about..

House .... Insurance.... Keep valuables upstairs sand bags know where to shut off utilities....

It doesn't have to cost a fortune ;) or require endless spending on special kit .... No one needs 10 torches.. no I don't I really don't but no not me :mrgreen: :| ;) :P :oops: :twisted: