Mobile CB for long range?

blue90

Mobile CB for long range?

Post by blue90 »

Vehicle based, what kind of range can I expect? Will be mostly over flat ground. Is there anyway to boost range? Im a total newbee to CB , had a home base in the 80's but didnt really get technical about it all.
unsure

Re: Mobile CB for long range?

Post by unsure »

with a decent set and a good ariel set up , you should nt have any problem with distance , depends on how far you expect to get with it . i`m on mersey side and regularly hear a couple of geordies , they could be any were i know .
YES i walked away mid sentence , you were boring me to death and my survival instincts kick in .
blue90

Post by blue90 »

I would obviously like as much range as possible, I plan to have one in a vehicle and one as a home base, even going to the nearest shop here is a good 5 miles away so range is important. The home base is undecided but the vehicle will have a firestick mounted on a bull bar, not ideal I know but I need it to be rigid as its a soft top it can only go on the bull bar.
Is there a way to increase the 4 watt output?
korolev

Post by korolev »

blue90 wrote: Mon Sep 07, 2020 6:21 pm I would obviously like as much range as possible, I plan to have one in a vehicle and one as a home base, even going to the nearest shop here is a good 5 miles away so range is important. The home base is undecided but the vehicle will have a firestick mounted on a bull bar, not ideal I know but I need it to be rigid as its a soft top it can only go on the bull bar.
Is there a way to increase the 4 watt output?
Legally, no. CB is limited to 4w. If you have no qualms about legality, have a search for "CB burners".
Make sure you have decent antennae though, no use putting out 20 watts if the antenna is crap.
blue90

Post by blue90 »

Is SSB worth getting? Also, I see radios classed as ''import'' , I take it they are 10 meter?
easy rider

Post by easy rider »