Enlighten me about camping cookers

Kit, Clothing, Tools, etc
korolev

Enlighten me about camping cookers

Post by korolev »

In the next few months we are going to be having work done to our house and will need to move out.
One possibility is to move into the garage (it's a double garage and I've been converting the back half of it into a garden room/summer house/pub).
So with that in mind I'm looking into a camping cooking setup but I have zero knowledge of them, hence my questions :
Propane or Butane ?
Can you get a stove that runs off a standard gas bottle rather than the little cannisters ?
Any recommendations ?
Yorkshire Andy

Re: Enlighten me about camping cookers

Post by Yorkshire Andy »

If work on the house why not get an electronic hotplate either ceramic or induction plug into a 13a socket and away you go?

Unless your after a prep in that case a camping Gaz 2 burner with grill

Propane is good for winter use

Butane summer

Most house insurance won't like propane in a dwelling

CGI stoves usually come with hose pre fitted then you buy the regulator to match the bottle
If your roughing it, Your doing it wrong ;)

Lack of planning on your part doesn't make it an emergency on mine
Yorkshire Andy

Post by Yorkshire Andy »

Yorkshire Andy

Post by Yorkshire Andy »

Oh and Mr calor won't let you take a new rental out on his bottles at the moment look on Facebook selling site for an empty one

I'd go for 7kg butane unless it's going to be cold...

https://shop.calor.co.uk/7kg-butane-gas-bottle.html

What they don't make overly common knowledge is you can exchange and swap sizes and types

https://www.calor.co.uk/gas-bottles/adv ... e-exchange

This is the regulator to suit calor 7 and 15kg butane
https://www.amazon.co.uk/CALOR-GAS-Regu ... 6996&psc=1

jansman

Post by jansman »

I’ll second the induction hobs. We use them at work.
In three words I can sum up everything I have learned about life: It goes on.

Robert Frost.