Improvised Faraday Cage...?

Kit, Clothing, Tools, etc
Son Of Andrew

Improvised Faraday Cage...?

Post by Son Of Andrew »

Hi Folks,

I've searched on this site for references to the above and found very little, but please excuse me if this topic has been raised elsewhere and I missed it...
Sorry, total tech-noob here... Does anyone have any experience of building a Faraday cage, and could they please tell me, would a sealed Mylar bag constitute a Faraday cage in and of itself? I was bucketing beans the other day and the thought occurred to me that I could possibly use them for the purpose.

If so, it's surely a simple matter of bucketing your electrical items just like your food. I think the bag itself is a Faraday cage, and the bucket would simply protect the bag. It'd be a simple and economical fix if it works. Am I right in thinking that if it blocks the signal from my mobile then it'll do the job? If I seal the mobile in the bag and it doesn't ring when called, surely it'll work to save items from an EMP...

If someone could let me know, please, I'd really appreciate it.

Cheers, ta
Matthew.
=0)
Fortune Favours The Prepared.
Son Of Andrew

Re: Improvised Faraday Cage...?

Post by Son Of Andrew »

I should clarify... I've found a LOT of references to Faraday cages on these boards, but no actual builds or 'concrete' resources, or references to Mylar bags as such. Many of the threads are very old and links to external resources defunct. If anyone would care to help me, I'd really appreciate it, thank you.

M.
=0)
korolev

Post by korolev »

Get a 1 metre length of copper pipe or similar. Hammer it two thirds into the ground. Run a nice thick cable from it to a metal tin (biscuit tins are good, not least because you have to eat the biscuits) . To ensure it is properly connected rub sand the paint off a small area, drill a hole and affix the cable using a nut/bolt/washers.
If the weather is dry for a long time, water the earth spike.
Son Of Andrew