A couple of recommended power preps

Kit, Clothing, Tools, etc
fapplan

A couple of recommended power preps

Post by fapplan »

I mentioned in a different post that we recently had a power cut one evening that lasted for approximately 4 hours. As I am new to prepping I was glad that I got the chance to use a couple of my recent prepper purchases! I just thought I'd share my experience and opinions on the wind-up radio and LED camping lantern that I used, just in case any fellow newbie preppers find the information useful.

The wind-up radio I have is the Degen DE13 - http://goo.gl/7LN36R

I chose this one as it was recommended in a post by another user on this forum. I also recommend this radio because it's very robust and is of excellent build quality for the price (I paid £16 for it). It doesn't require too much winding to get a decent amount of playback, and as well as the solar charging option there is also the option of just using normal AAA batteries. As well as a wind-up radio, it also has an LED torch with a distress beacon, a very loud siren and the option to charge phones etc via a USB port.

The LED camping lantern that I have is the Duronic 4 in 1 lantern - http://goo.gl/jcm9vf

For the money paid (£14), this is also a very robust and versatile product. As well a torch and a lantern, it is also a distress beacon and again this has the function of charging things via a USB port. One thing that I have learned after using this is to keep it charged (you can charge it via the USB port), as winding it from empty takes a long time. I think this lantern is very handy and will be adding at least one more to my preps in the near future.

I also have one of these torches - http://goo.gl/xSX6nu