Vehicles, and Modifications

Logistics and Transport
Meyou

Vehicles, and Modifications

Post by Meyou »

This area is so Empty! So I'mma going to post something which has been on my mind for a while now. Which is Vehicles, and Modifications to them. I'm not too concerned about minor mods like jerry can carriers and the likes, but major mods like suspension upgrades and the likes.

I've been driving my current car for two years now, and I know its capabilities on and off road. I know it will struggle with some potential obstacles, and want to modify it to overcome them. Problem is, if I put a specific modification onto the car, and then BREAK said mod, getting replacement parts would be near impossible in a post-disaster enviroment, essentially rendering my BOV a two ton paperweight.

The way I see it, keeping it (Mostly) stock would make replacement parts easy to find, at the expense of getting stuck in the mud occasionally. Modifying it would mean I dont get stuck (As much) but if I break the part, I'll probably have to hoof it from that point onwards.

What is folks opinions? IS there a third option I've missed here?
Northern Raider

Re: Vehicles, and Modifications

Post by Northern Raider »

We sadly cant have it all ways, practical realities stop us from buying Pinzgaurs and Unimogs. Currently my BOV is as you say a two ton papperweight buried in two feet on snow sat on two iches of ice and going nowhere.
That leaves me utterly reliant on my domestic caches and a Mitsy Pinin.

You should in an ideal world also have a vehicle made in your own country, still in production with affordable parts, that sort of focuses things down to Landies, European made ford, gm, toyota and nissan vehicles like Transits 4x4s.
Meyou

Post by Meyou »

Aye, I've been eying up a Landy for a while now. But as you said, thats an ideal world. The only Landies I can afford, are either old, knackered, or old and knackered.