Hello Preppers!

New Members - Introduce yourself, and say a few words
Tomsky02

Hello Preppers!

Post by Tomsky02 »

Hi Everyone,

I'm brand new to prepping but Covid-19 has certainly opened my eyes to how fragile our economy and social structure can be. Reading through some posts, I realised I don't even have a torch in the house!

It's nice to look through some posts and see that this is clearly a friendly forum. It's also great to read that it's not all about fending off looters and zombies with a short-barrelled shotgun. Mostly just being sensible as far as I can tell.

Looking forward to getting started.
izzy_mack

Re: Hello Preppers!

Post by izzy_mack »

welcome to the forum, yes this is a friendly sort of place, most of the time. The usual advice given to a beginner doesn't quite apply at the moment. Normally we would say try and build up supplies, aim for a weeks worth and build on that and depending on your financial position a month. If you can't afford that in a oner, buy an extra tin or two whenever you go shopping and slowly but surely you'll get a stockpile. Right now that's a bit of a dream but I'm sure you'll do the best you can. Remember to try and buy what you normally eat anyway if you hate tinned peas you won't fancy them later- unless you're starving! Try (another dream at the moment) to squirrel away a little cash, if the ATM went down and card machines weren't working you'd have something to get basics with.
If you have a garden grow what you can to eat.
Use any time just now to learn. whatever you think may be useful to you. How to start a fire, how to make water safe to drink, how to make stuff you'll know what you fancy and I don't know your position but you may have the time now. Good luck.
jansman

Post by jansman »