Hello

New Members - Introduce yourself, and say a few words
Lin b

Hello

Post by Lin b »

Hi, I'm new to the idea of prepping and am just starting to get organised.
I think I will start with getting my home ready, looking at security, food store and water store. Supply of meds/ first aid. Ways of providing heat and light in event of prolonged power cuts and water shortages. Am I on the right track.?
Thanks
Lin
Yorkshire Andy

Re: Hello

Post by Yorkshire Andy »

Welcome ....

First question is what are you looking to achieve?

And then assess what you forsee happening...

Good old risk assessment style.

Very little risk of flooding on the top of a hill for example....

Once you know what your preparing for do an inventory of what you have ..

Eg planning to be cut off in cold / snow at home loosing electric...

So you will probably have warm clothing...

A spare quilt?

A car phone charger?

Have you got a way of boiling water??

Cooking dinner?

Lighting?

Spare food to see you through been snowed in a week for example..

You will find lots of overlaps eg clean water cooking equipment

Remember you can survive

Days without water

Weeks without food

Shelter depends on time of year....

Look into common issues

House fires,
Flooding,
Loss of utilities eg power cut

Before you buy anything think before you spend a £8 camping stove will still boil water the same as a £100 pure titanium ultra lightweight magic stove inmost instances

First aid stuff depends on your skill level but a decent first aid kit will never go amiss for medication remember it has a life span before it degrades so 100 boxes of paracetamol might be a bit Ott

As with food stuffs

Buy what you use, use what store, rotate and replenish your stocks after use...

And check your insured correctly many people when setting up contents insurance think of the value as things like TV /washer but don't take into account clothing, carpets, kids toys ...