Hi

New Members - Introduce yourself, and say a few words
Jillybean

Hi

Post by Jillybean »

Hi, I'm new to actual prepping, but have been fighting the compulsion to for a very long time (friends think I'm crazy enough). However, I've finally given in and have made a speedy start (feeling like there is a timer hanging over my head on count down). I caved to my instincts in January. So far I have created a pantry and filling it, learned about alternative cooking, made a rocket stove and my youngest and I have had a few trial runs. A few improvements need to be made, but I'm happy. I have a cob mini (tester) rocket stove before moving on to a larger version. My 'greenhouse'' and cold frames are just waiting for better weather to finish them off. I've also managed to incorporate water saving into it (just need a new water butt as mine has a crack). I've been reading up on so many things and learning to make bread (that my family will eat) from scratch. Now looking to create a bug in box.

It's just all so overwhelming and wondering how far I go. My hubby is tolerant as long as I don't take him shopping with me too often. I'm also looking into solar chargers, as I will need access to all the books I have downloaded onto my kindle. Although I'm building my 'SHTF' folder of things I feel may be helpful.

Looking forward to learning much more 😀
jansman

Re: Hi

Post by jansman »

Welcome. Have a look around, ask questions, and slow down. Sounds like you are streets ahead of most folks. You can learn a lot here, and that will save you effort and cash too.
In three words I can sum up everything I have learned about life: It goes on.

Robert Frost.

Covid 19: After that level of weirdness ,any situation is certainly possible.

Me.
Deeps

Post by Deeps »