New member - nottinghamshire

New Members - Introduce yourself, and say a few words
Med85

New member - nottinghamshire

Post by Med85 »

Hi there
Im craig and new to the site.
Im new to prepping although have had thoughts and reservations for some time. I have basic supplies of water stores and food to last maybe a month.

I suppose im prepping for a couple of things really. the most likely scenarios in my mind are an economic collapse in todays unstable world economic climate with Brexit, trump, terrorism etc, but not only that, with advances in technology and replacing jobs with tech I fail to see how this wouldn't increase unemployment and bring on a collapse?
The other scenario in healthcare I read a lot of health related summaries and through my job the DOH yearly threat review highlight that a pandemic is the biggest impacting threat to the UK medical service. putting it above terrorism, climate issues, volcanic scenarios etc.

Its an interesting read (https://assets.publishing.service.gov.u ... _Final.pdf) and is updated yearly with new information and world events affecting the 'likelihood' of event 'x' happening within the next 5 years.

As such I am also prepping for a pandemic.

A few obstacles I have come up against is the fact that my wife thinks its a rediculous idea so i tend to have an agreement of, shes aware im prepping but doesnt get involved. (I wonder if that would still be the case if SHTF?)

The other is, im kind of on the fence as to whether survivability is better in numbers or doing it alone. In a pandemic Id deffinatly say isolation is key to reduce the likelyhood of spreading disease, however in an economic collapse I would think strength in numbers to rebuild a working community for food growth, support, security etc.
what is everyone elses thought?
Are there many preppers around the nottinghamshire area?

Anyway its nice to hear from you all, so thanks in advance.

Happy prepping
Deeps

Re: New member - nottinghamshire

Post by Deeps »