Another newbie from London

New Members - Introduce yourself, and say a few words
pupeno

Another newbie from London

Post by pupeno »

Hello,

I'm yet another newbie prepper from London. Specifically, south west London.

I've always had a passing interest on prepping and self sufficiency. I lived in Argentina during the 2001 crisis that saw the state go headless and that was quite an experience. I'd be interesting in meeting other preppers to learn and hang out with similarly minded people. What's the best way of going on about it?

These days I have an almost finished bug out bag, although I'm not entirely happy with it yet. I'm also working on prepping for staying at home without power or utilities but I'm just getting started with it (where to store drinking water is my main issue right now).
--
J. Pablo Fernández https://pupeno.com
Deeps

Re: Another newbie from London

Post by Deeps »

Welcome to the forum, water is bulky, have a read of the forums but if you're struggling with your 'normal' storage, do you have kickboards for under the stowages in the kitchen ? Most modern kitchens have under cupboard boards that can be pulled off (fnarr fnarr) and can hide all sorts, not practical for day to day access but an option. Something else to consider in a built up area like London is cooking smells if you're planning on staying put, I don't know if this would be an issue for you. Enjoy the forum though and have a nose around.
Britcit

Post by Britcit »

Welcome to the forum.

If you have space in your freezer, store bottles of water in there. I believe freezers run more economically when full, and if you have a power cut the bottles will help keep the temperature stable for longer.
They can be just taken out if you buy food to freeze.

I don't have so much of a space issue, but I still keep bottles in the freezer to aid during power cuts.

Just an idea for you to consider.