Hello there

New Members - Introduce yourself, and say a few words
MBJ

Hello there

Post by MBJ »

Hello there all,

I'm fairly new to the idea of prepping. I have been aware of it for awhile due to my uncle but have never really given it any serious thought until recently. However, my father and uncle were of that generation who still have vivid memories of rationing after the war and of the three day working weeks with blackouts. Speaking of blackouts, my father and his fiancée experienced a 6 day blackout last winter, and if it were not for a few simple precautions such as something to cook on or some spare lighting sources, they'd have been in fair bit of bother.

After all, it does seem only sensible to have some precautions in place for those rainy days or emergencies.

Now I'm not talking the Zombie Apocalypse, nuclear fallout, alien invasion or even an EMP or total collapse of society. Those I believe are either extremely unlikely or ridiculous. At least for my own geographical location and personal circumstances anyway. I have read that a prepper should prepare for the events that are likely to effect them after all. I happen to live in a large inner city area of the UK which is very high up and therefore not on a floodplain. Moreover, natural disasters such as earthquakes, hurricanes, blizzards, tornadoes or even volcano eruptions are fortunately not something that effects the UK and therefore do not need to be considered.

However it is much more likely to expect that I could:

A) Lose my job.
B) Suffer a severe blackout.
C) Suffer through a fuel crisis (like the one when the lorry drivers went on strike).
D)Be a victim of a terrorist attack.