Baofeng UV-5R

filsgreen

Baofeng UV-5R

Post by filsgreen »

Morning all

Well I'm studying for my foundation license and should have my exam around the first week in November. In the mean time I was thinking of getting this radio to listen in to Ham radio users and to get used to the functions and controls; I will NOT transmit until I receive my call sign.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007 ... MJYSHA4UDP

Is this a good radio to start off with? If so, what sort of aerial should I use with it? Any advice/guidance will be appreciated.

Phil
Hamradioop

Re: Baofeng UV-5R

Post by Hamradioop »

Yes that is an excellent entry rig to Ham Radio. I have one as do many others here.
I would also buy the programming cable and down load chirp to program it http://chirp.danplanet.com/projects/chirp/wiki/Download
“A nation of sheep will beget a government of wolves.” ― Edward R. Murrow
"Remember Politicians are like babies diapers they both need changing often for the very same reason" - Mark Twain
If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal.
filsgreen

Post by filsgreen »

Thanks for your recommendations H.
The-Mendologist

Post by The-Mendologist »

Yes, good little radios for the price, i have two UV5RC's.
Be mindful that they are only 2M & 70CM's on FM, but you can also program in PMR 446 and they also work on marine freqs too, as i live near the river i also listen in on the VTS too.
Derv

Post by Derv »

What is the potential range with these handsets? I've done away with the standard antenna and got one of those Nagoya ones in anticipation of getting my ticket and using a local-ish repeater.

Its about 12 ish miles as the crow flies, but there is a bit of lumpy land in between. I'm thinking I'm going to need an antenna on the roof :tinfoil
Guinness drinker with a prepping problem.
Area 1, Wiltshire.
The-Mendologist