What is it - a very newbie question

PreppingPingu

What is it - a very newbie question

Post by PreppingPingu »

I have skimmed over various posts on radio over the years on the forum as I have no knowledge or understanding about it. Curiosity has got the better of me now!

Sooo what is ham radio? Why is it important in a SHtF situation? Is it just for listening to or is it a 2 way communication? I am assuming it works in a different way to conventional listening to radio that we pick up ie radio1 jack fm etc. My pc speakers sometimes pick up a foreign language being spoken/radio transmission of some sort even when my pc is switched off but they are still connected to the electricity. I wondered what I was picking up and how as as far as I know my speaker have no receivers in them! Something must be acting as a receiver. Having said that it hasn't happened for a while as I have been making sure I switching everything off at night as they are outside my bedroom door and it woke me up once.
"Today is the tomorrow that you worrried about yesterday" - unknown
"Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast" - Red Dwarf
(Area 3)
Hamradioop

Re: What is it - a very newbie question

Post by Hamradioop »

Hi Pingu,
Ham Radio is a two way communication system using radio waves. Radio Hams can talk to each other from anywhere in the world. For Prepping purposes if it is used it will allow you to talk to others in your Family or group at some distance. There are also suggested international Ham Radio radio spot frequencies for Preppers when the SHTF. Think of Police radios.
“A nation of sheep will beget a government of wolves.” ― Edward R. Murrow
"Remember Politicians are like babies diapers they both need changing often for the very same reason" - Mark Twain
If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal.
Briggs 2.0

Post by Briggs 2.0 »

@Pingu