Food/Protein Health Bars - Homemade

Got a tasty recipe? Novel way to use ketchup? Put it in here..
damar2000

Food/Protein Health Bars - Homemade

Post by damar2000 »

I am doing some weights and fitness at the moment and I wanted some healthy cheap protein bars as the ones you get from the shop are expensive and full of whey protein which isn't generally good for you. So here was my experiment (I used to be a chef so I wasn't accurate on measurements - I just threw it in!)

A couple of handfuls of mixed nuts - pecans, walnuts, almonds, hazelnuts.
A couple of handfuls of organic porridge oats
Three heaped tablespoons of organic peanut butter
Three heaped tablespoons of organic honey
Two tablespoons of hot chocolate powder
Two tablespoons of milk powder
A sprinkling of cinammon
1 organic egg
Some chopped dried bananas
A handful of sultanas
A couple of cups of water just to get a nice thick lumpy consistency that can be shaped
1 bar green and blacks dark chocolate (optional)

I blitzed the oats and nuts so they were fairly coursely ground in a blender
Add the banana bits, milk powder, cocoa powder, sultanas and cinammon (basically all the dried ingredients) in a bowl and mix.
Add the honey, peanut butter and egg and mix.
At this point it will be a bit thick and dry so just add a bit of water to soften it a bit so that you still have a thick mixture that can be shaped but not too wet.
Shape into a slab on a baking tray and bake in the oven at about 150-180 for 25-30 minutes or until browned on the outside and hot in the middle - test with a knife.
Cut into 12-14 or so bars.

Optional - melt the chocolate with a spoonful of honey and a small knob of butter in the microwave (carefully - 5-10 second blasts until melted) and dip the tops of each bar in when cool.
Refridgerate
Eat - but not all at once.