Whey Protein, prepper food?

Food, Nutrition and Agriculture
metatron

Whey Protein, prepper food?

Post by metatron »

So I've been using protein shakes as a food supplement for a few years helping to build muscle and have been mostly using Optimum Nutrition gold standard 100% whey, as when you mix it with skimmed milk it tastes quite nice. I recently bought some Pro-10 unflavoured whey protein to try it, as it was so cheap, £10 per KG, I've been mixing it with a banana and skimmed milk and its quite nice, but it could be added to anything.

Being that long term storage of good sources of protein can be tricky, it seems to me that as it can be stored for years it would make a good source of protein, in a world were getting access to meat, fish, eggs and even milk becomes harder access.
scoobie

Re: Whey Protein, prepper food?

Post by scoobie »

If anyone is going to do this, just find one you can stomach, and one which mixes well with water instead of milk.

I've been through about a dozen different brands, currently using sci-mx strawberry..

Good idea though :)
By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail - Benjamin Franklin
seboss

Post by seboss »

I've always got a 5KG bag of unflavoured whey from myprotein.com. Only costs around £36 and the quality is just as good as the rest (i've done a couple of natural bodybuilding shows and worked in a gym for three years :). Its a great addition to the food preps. I also keep a few boxes of ready break as it assimilates well with the protein and water, tastes boring but that with a fish oil capsule or two and you've got a pretty sustainable meal for next to nothing that will last. Even throw down a multi-vitamin forgood measure ;)
maddriver

Post by maddriver »

Another vote for myprotein.com.

http://www.myprotein.com/uk/products/im ... ey_protein currently £41.49 for 5kg (£8.30/kg) Also they do vitamin C and a multi vit in powdered form, could be handy to make meals from storage a little bit more nutritious.