Beekeeping

Food, Nutrition and Agriculture
Huorn

Beekeeping

Post by Huorn »

Hmm, where to start?

I've been keeping bees for a few years now, but would say I'm a long way from being any kind of expert at keeping them. There are some old boys at the local association who've been beekeepers for four or five decades and still claim to be learning! It's too involved to try and describe how you keep bees here, so I'll keep it to why you might start and a few things it involves.

From a preppers view point honey and wax will be your two main crops, though propolis and pollen, among other things, can be collected from a hive too.

Honey needs no introduction from me as many will have a jar in a cupboard right now. Apart from the obvious spread on toast and a spoonful in a hot drink when you're under the weather it make a good substitute for sugar in cooking as well as a straight forward spirit lifting drink mead. It should also have a place in the preppers pharmaceutical store as an antiseptic for minor cuts grazes and burns. A reasonably healthy hive should give something like thirty to fifty pounds of honey, though crops in excess of a hundred weight are not that uncommon.

Wax has many uses other than making quality candles which burn longer and cleaner than paraffin wax candles. From tying fishing flies to cosmetics and much between, it's very saleable and more valuable than honey itself as it take four pounds of honey for bees to produce a pound of wax! Thornes[1], major UK beekeeping suppliers, will accept clean wax in payment for their products.