Get me home bicycle

Logistics and Transport
mongrel

Get me home bicycle

Post by mongrel »

I've been thinking about transport after an event,my worst case scenario would be a EMP or similar while away from home. As a working Engineer I'm often up to a 100 miles distant from home, my van is equipped with a “Get me home” bag containing most of the usual things, but in the case of EMP it could be a long walk, so a bicycle would be ideal.

What type, simple and straight forward for general use, with panniers to carry say 3 days worth of food and shelter .

Question is, what could I pack on a bike that could be stored long term ( Hopefully) in a box in the back of a van.
featherstick

Re: Get me home bicycle

Post by featherstick »

i'm not sure if I've understood you properly, but there are plenty of decent folders about which could sit in the back of the van until needed.

Otherwise, there's loads of different bikes about - I used to use a mountain bike with panniers and slicks - nice and robust and nippy enough, now I use a folder, you could consider a hybrid or a touring bike. Really depends what sort of cycling you want to do. The thing to do is try lots of bikes out, talk to cyclists, and get to know your local bike shop.
grenfell

Post by grenfell »

It's a good idea if you have the space in the van as I always find it amazing just how much room a bike takes up. Folding bikes do seem to have come along quite a bit nowadays being more like "proper" bikes so if you are looking at buying a bike for this purpose that might be worth thinking about.