Refrigeration.

Homes and Retreats
jansman

Refrigeration.

Post by jansman »

So today is hotter than Hades.Our fridge at home ain't cutting it,at least 8 degrees higher than legal limits ( I work in the food industry so am VERY aware).I cannot do anything about it til Friday PM. Anyhow,a year or two ?back,one of our members here had problems with her fridge,( I forget who) and I suggested frozen pop bottles full of water at the top ( cold air sinks) and it worked.

Keeping chest freezers as we do,we have frozen bottles so I have popped three in there on the top shelf. After an hour I checked the lower temp and it was 8 degrees ( E U limit: UK is 5).Chucked ALL the high risk foods ( we ain't spewing for the sake of about ten quid!)

Knowing what I do,I suspect it's lost gas - but its academic - I will get another tomorrow. If you have room for ice packs or frozen water etc.Its a good idea.Always handy to have frozen ( 3/4 full) bottles of water in case of the taps drying up!

Aah well,yet another problem to deal with.As we say round these parts,"There's allus summat!" :lol: Postscript: The real downside is The Duchess and her Prosecco! Me ,I drink bitter or red wine,proper Apocalypse grog! :lol:
In three words I can sum up everything I have learned about life: It goes on.

Robert Frost.

Covid 19: After that level of weirdness ,any situation is certainly possible.

Me.
Deeps

Re: Refrigeration.

Post by Deeps »

Probably your advice from that earlier thread but I keep 4 2L bottles not quite full frozen for just such occasions. Maybe a bit awkward but insulating with duvets etc can help too if a fridge/freezer is struggling.

Red wine is the booze of champions and definitely the post apocalypse beverage of choice.
jansman

Post by jansman »

Like^^^^
I've actually switched it off and put the ice packs into the insulated cool boxes we have.Being a tightwad,I ain't burning leccy!

We'll manage.Its what tinned food was invented for!

Robert Frost.

Me.
Deeps