Security and CCTV

Homes and Retreats
defender130

Security and CCTV

Post by defender130 »

Looking to increase my general all round security outside and looking for advice from anyone who understands different types of CCTV better than I do

Not something I have ever looked at before but I am looking to install half a dozen fairly discrete cameras (and a few not so discrete ones to draw attention away from the others) but don't really know much about CCTV systems

I think I want wired networked cameras (as I have cat 5 cable running all over the place so getting to a network port should be easy) which I can hook up to a hard drive for recording and monitoring and possibly remote monitoring as well

Does such a system exist that anyone can recommend or point me at relevant things so I can understand and piece things together

Any advice welcome if anyone can help

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jaffab

Re: Security and CCTV

Post by jaffab »

I have CCTV in my home. I am no expert, so take what I say with a pinch of salt.

For reference, the product I purchased was this one...

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Security-Syste ... =CCTV+dome

Now things to think about (which I found out, added to over time)...

1) The hard part is running the cables. A friend told me to avoid WiFi based cameras as they can be blocked or just go wrong most of the time.
2) Plan whey you are going to put the cameras before you put them in place, and then plan where you are going to run the cables. Cables should be above head/arm height if outdoors to stop them being cut.
3) The cables supply the feed and power (so only 1 cable per camera) but the end of the cable are twin twist connectors - which are fairly large. If you are going through walls, the holes will be fairly large (about the size of a 2p). This can prove difficult when drilling through an exterior wall.