Very Handy Medical Book.

Read something good? Written something good? Link it, or copy it here!
diamond lil

Very Handy Medical Book.

Post by diamond lil »

"The Practice Of Aromatherapy: Classic Compendium of Plant Medicines and Their Healing Properties"
by Dr Jean Valnet (Author).

Look up this on Amazon, he was a pioneer of aromatherapy and treated war wounds during WW2 with plant and essential oils.
Arzosah

Re: Very Handy Medical Book.

Post by Arzosah »

That's very interesting, Lil - quite a few of the reviews mention the amount of research data he provides. This is one to buy with my next set of vouchers :) thanks.
diamond lil

Post by diamond lil »

I got a copy for pennies on amazon Arzosah ;)
Deeps

Post by Deeps »

I'm always reminded of this cartoon when I think of aromatherapy.....

No offence intended and no point to prove, it just tickles me.
Arzosah

Post by Arzosah »

It's a good one :mrgreen: I used to be a therapist, I can still appreciate that :mrgreen: As to how helpful it is: every time someone says "lavender helps you sleep", or "steam your sinuses and put this stuff in the water", thats a level of aromatherapy. If push came to shove, well-researched things like that could be really helpful, and one good book is worth it's place on my bookshelf :)

Lil, not going to buy a 2nd hand one during flu season :oops: wimping on that; I was going to get a kindle version, but as a reference book, thats difficult. New copy fulfilled by Amazon for £9.22 fits nicely with my next voucher, I'll go for that.
Deeps

Post by Deeps »

A lot of old remedies have a base in 'something' so I'm open minded on that front.

I tend to scoff at pretty much anything when people become evangelical about a subject, it just seems very egotistical to me. Not that I think that's what's happening with you and Lil. Hope you both enjoy it.
diamond lil

Post by diamond lil »