Ham Radio Foundation licence

Kit, Clothing, Tools, etc
RockingDad

Ham Radio Foundation licence

Post by RockingDad »

Hi all,

Has anyone been able to study and pass their ham foundation licence without assistance of a club. The club local to me don't run courses and membership is 'invitation only', the most local is an hours round trip which makes it a bit impractical by the time I get in from work etc.

Therefore, am I able to study, perhaps with some assisting material (i'm getting the foundation now book for starters), and go somewhere that holds the exam without the course? I'm not trying to be antisocial here, just want to get licenced in a practical way for me.

I'm not a complete noob when it comes circuit digrams etc. Looking to get the Baofeng UV-5R as a starter radio to learn the craft as it were. I use hand helds at work (licenced back to back) so have some radio etiquette knowledge and the phonetic alphabet like the back of my hand.

Cheers

RockingDad
Briggs

Re: Ham Radio Foundation licence

Post by Briggs »

Yeah, same here. I'm not able to get to a local club but want to study and take the exam.
I recently experienced Plymouth City centre so that's why I prep.
OpSec

Post by OpSec »

Hi

I did the Foundation last year and I'm now doing the Intermediate and Advanced side by side to get it over and done with. I'm lucky because my local club is not far away and runs several courses through the year.

You can learn the theory without the help of a club by working through the 3 books (one for each level) that are published by the RSGB. There is also plenty of good information on several club website - Google Chemsford Amateur Radio Society and Bredhurst Receiving and Transmitting Society for good online instruction. I can also recommend the RSGB Exam Secrets book - one book covers all three exams.