Generators and hot water solar panels

Kit, Clothing, Tools, etc
Dropbear

Post by Dropbear »

Could I get some info on the above please? With regards to fuel consumption and whether hot water solar panels work sufficiently well in blighty? Any help is appreciated.
Carrot Cruncher

Re: Generators and hot water solar panels

Post by Carrot Cruncher »

I'm no expert in either field but my petrol generator (3.2kw, which is quite powerfull) uses 6 ltrs in 7 or 8 hours. Diesel ones may be more efficient but i'm not sure. With regard to big household solar panels I believe that most people over here use them for heating Hot Water and I'm sure I read someone saying they have "free" hot water between May and October. The installation costs can be around 4k though so it would take a very long time to get your money back. We decided against buying them to retrofit them due to the cost and long payback time, but when we move to a new place, if the house already has them installed it would be a major plus.
The-Great-Nothing

Post by The-Great-Nothing »

Hi,

I spent a day installing a Navitron hot water solar panel kit - cost circa £1200. Now I can turn the boiler off between May (ish) and Oct (ish) - with only occational need to top up with gas or immersion.

Whilst looking at the panel stats over Xmas - I saw it pump some hot water down from the panel - so even in winter it pre-heats the water to the boiler some what.

You do need a south facing roof and non pressurised hot water tank with a top feed immersion heater / tapping.

Highly recommended.

Cheers

Matt
Carrot Cruncher

Post by Carrot Cruncher »

Hi Matt, its always good to hear from someone who has first hand knowledge. How simple / hard was it to install yourself ? Is it something the average person would be able to do ?
Dropbear

Post by Dropbear »