Essential skills for a group ?

How are you preparing
Carrot Cruncher

Post by Carrot Cruncher »

A bit of a ramble but I do get to the point eventually :D

I drive Articulated Trucks for a living. If for whatever reason TSHTF the chances of me being useful as a driver are at best fairly limited. I have done various jobs over the years from labouring to management roles but dont have a trade as such. With a lot of things I know a little bit but am no expert, as the old saying goes "jack of all trades, master of none"

As prepping is about learning skills just as much as getting kit and learning how to use it, what skills could someone like me learn while still working and making a living etc that would be useful to a group post TS hitting TF. Learning to be a Doctor would obviously be useful but not very practical to learn while holding down a job so it would probably have to be something a little less ambitious

Before deciding on what skills to learn I guess the first thing to do would be to decide what skills would be essential / useful to a group

So a few essential / useful group skills that I can think of (in no particular order):

Doctor/Medic/Herbalist/Nurse etc
General Builder
Farmer
Mechanic
Engineer
Hunter/Trapper/Fisherman
Food Preserving
Dressmaker/Tailer
Forestry
Blacksmith
Navigation and Map Reading
Horse skills
Security
Cooking
Vet

Anyone got any more to add ?

CC
itsybitsy

Re: Essential skills for a group ?

Post by itsybitsy »

Dentists
Opticians
Gardening (i.e. growing veg, storing/germinating/cross pollinating seeds etc etc) as it's not quite the same as farming
Animal husbandry
Metal working (may need to make weapons/tools)
Carpentry

I think if TS REALLY HTF and we are talking about a major EOTWAWKI event, then anyone who had teaching skills/knowledge may be invaluable as, effectively, we would be starting again.
lisaloolibell

Post by lisaloolibell »