Water

How are you preparing
Tomsky02

Water

Post by Tomsky02 »

Hi,

Apologies if this post should go somewhere else.

I see that water is high on every single list for starting out. Reading through posts, there are varying attitudes as to how much you should keep and what for. As a beginner I'd be interested to hear people's thoughts. I read it's a good idea to keep bottled water stashed in the garage, probably 1 litre a day for 2 people. So about 30 litres for a two week sit-in. Is that purely for hydrating though? I assume it doesn't include cooking, washing, etc.

We are planning to start some veg growing this summer and I hope to get a small rain barrel for that.

Lastly, and feel free to post a silly answer if this is a silly question, does bottled water have a risk if stored in an environment of changing temperature, like a single brick garage that's freezing in winter and a hot box in Summer.

Thanks in advance.
Tomsky02

Re: Water

Post by Tomsky02 »

I'm sorry. I just found an entire board called... "Water" :oops:
Yorkshire Andy

Post by Yorkshire Andy »

Welcome to the forum can you please post an intro in our new members section:

http://www.uk-preppers.co.uk/forum/viewforum.php?f=9

Water is a tricky one but a few nights town was without water for about 5 hours due to a big fault at the pumping station...

Most health authorities and desaster planners work on 2l per day each for drinking....

A garage is ok providing it doesn't freeze solid and split the bottles

Biggest killer of fresh water is light it encourages growth of organic organisms..

https://www.beprepared.com/blog/9182/5- ... r-storage/
If your roughing it, Your doing it wrong ;)

Lack of planning on your part doesn't make it an emergency on mine
Tomsky02

Post by Tomsky02 »

Yorkshire Andy wrote: Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:31 am Welcome to the forum can you please post an intro in our new members section:

http://www.uk-preppers.co.uk/forum/viewforum.php?f=9